• Events
  • Webinar: Investor Webinar: 2020 Antimicrobial Resistan...
Webinar - Event date: 28 Jan 2020

Investor Webinar: 2020 Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Benchmark

On 28 and 29 January, the Access to Medicine Foundation will host an investor webinar about the newly published 2020 AMR Benchmark. It will provide investors with an introduction about the materiality of AMR for the pharmaceutical industry and present the results from the most recent independent comparison of how 30 different pharmaceutical companies are responding to rising rates of drug-resistant infections.

To accommodate different time-zones, the Foundation will host the webinar twice: on 28 and 29 January. To register, you can click on one of the two time-slots below:

- 28 January 2020 (Tue): 16:00 GMT/ 17:00 CET/ 11:00 ET

- 29 January 2020 (Wed): 17:00 JST/ 8:00 GMT/ 9:00 CET

The webinar speakers include Bowen Gu, the Foundation's Investor Engagement Manager, who will set out why AMR presents risks and opportunities for pharmaceutical companies. Fatema Rafiqi, Research Programme Manager for the Benchmark, will talk through the main findings from this latest report. Also on hand will be Marijn Verhoef, who leads the Foundation's engagement with companies, to join the Q&A session.

2020 AMR Benchmark
The 2020 Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) Benchmark will be published on Tuesday 21 January and presented at the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting in Davos on Thursday 23 January. In this new report, the Access to Medicine Foundation will address unanswered questions about how pharmaceutical companies are managing the risks and opportunities associated with rising rates of drug-resistant infections.

The World Bank has warned that the annual costs associated with drug-resistant infections could be as large as those of the global financial crisis that started in 2008. This is why drug-resistant infections have been at the centre of high-level conversations at G7, G20 and United Nations General Assembly meetings since 2016.

The Foundation's AMR Benchmark is the first and only independent measure of how pharmaceutical companies involved in developing and supplying antibacterial and antifungal medicines and vaccines are taking action to limit AMR. Overall, the Benchmark will include metrics for 8 large research-based pharmaceutical companies, 9 generic medicine manufacturers, and 13 small and medium-sized enterprises.

If you have a technical issue with the registration or have any question, please contact Bowen Gu at bgu@accesstomedicinefoundation.org.

Find more information about the AMR Benchmark here.


Learn more

View our detailed overview of each company’s performance in the Index, including breakdowns of their product portfolios and R&D pipelines.