Live WEF discussion with Bill Gates & Jayasree Iyer at 1pm CET: “New Era For Global Health”

Jayasree K. Iyer joins Bill Gates and others to discuss how new leadership, policy and business models are rewriting the global health playbook.

The last decades have seen unprecedented collaboration, investment and learning as the global community has worked to bring quality healthcare to everyone. For many, this means we are now entering a new era of global health.

The question of what this era could look like will be addressed in a panel today at the 2018 Annual Meeting of the World Economic Forum in Davos. The speakers include Jayasree K. Iyer, who heads the Access Medicine Foundation and Bill Gates, co-Chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. The panelists will give their views on how new leadership, policy and business models are rewriting the global health playbook.

Watch the panel discussion live

The panel can be livstreamed via the WEF website.
It starts at 1pm CET/ 12pm GMT/ 7am EST/ 5:30pm IST/ 9pm JST/

The themes for discussion
The panelists will address some of the top priorities today in global health, such as the urgent need for new medicines and vaccines to be developed and for more people worldwide to be able to gain access to healthcare when they need it. The benefits of working in partnership will also be discussed, particularly when it comes to co-investment, market shaping and risk mitigation.

Jayasree K. Iyer, Executive Director of the Access to Medicine Foundation, will draw on findings from the Access to Medicine Index and newly published Antimicrobial Resistance Benchmark. She will give examples of different business models companies are using to reach poorer populations. Jayasree will also take a look ahead and set out the priorities for pharma companies in the next year in terms of access to medicine and antimicrobial resistance.

The panelists

  • Bill Gates, Co-Chair, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Jayasree K. Iyer, Executive Director, Access to Medicine Foundation
  • Arif M. Naqvi, Founder and Group Chief Executive, The Abraaj Group
  • Atul Gawande, Executive Director, Ariadne Labs; Surgeon, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Becky Quick, Co-Anchor, Squawk Box, CNBC

About the Antimicrobial Resistance Benchmark

The Antimicrobial Resistance Benchmark is the first report to systematically evaluate a cross-section of the pharmaceutical industry to identify which ones are doing more to tackle AMR. The Benchmark compares 30 pharmaceutical companies, including large R&D-based pharmaceutical companies, generic medicine manufacturers and smaller biotechnology companies. These are the key players in the antimicrobial market, including those with large R&D divisions, major market presence and specific expertise in developing new antibiotics and vaccines. We have mapped their action in antimicrobial R&D and antibiotic manufacturing policy, as well as the steps they take to ensure antimicrobials are available and being used wisely. The first Antimicrobial Resistance Benchmark was published on Tuesday 23 January 2018. The next version of the Benchmark will be released in late 2018.

About the Access to Medicine Foundation

The Access to Medicine Foundation is a non-profit organisation based in the Netherlands. It aims to advance access to medicine in low- and middle-income countries by stimulating and guiding the pharmaceutical industry to play a greater role in improving access to medicine. The Foundation is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the UK Department for International Development. For ten years, the Foundation has been building consensus on the role for the pharmaceutical industry in improving access to medicine and vaccines. It published its first benchmark of industry activity in this area in 2008, in the first Access to Medicine Index. The fifth Access to Medicine Index has been published in 2016.